Skip to content

The Story of the Pink and Blue Stroller

February 1, 2011

Valco Baby’s newest incarnation of the popular “Boy Meets Girl” Tri Mode EX Twin stroller combines all the functionality of the company’s flagship Tri Mode EX Twin in an updated pink and blue package created for today’s design-minded parents. A new concept, right?

Well, not really. We, at Valco Baby are currently releasing the third incarnation of the Half Pink – Half Blue Stroller.

It all began in 2004 (very soon after we came to the USA) when we realized that there was a market out there for a tailored stroller. Why was it that you could customize your single stroller to suit the gender of your child but once you had twins (or children close together) they had to be joined together by more than just the womb? Fair… We think not! And so the idea began to develop for a stroller that would cater to more than one baby style. And so it evolved… the Boy Meets Girl – Half Pink – Half Blue Stroller was first released in January 2005. The 2005 Twin Tri Mode (formerly known as the Twin Runabout) was an Ice Pink and Ice Blue version with a black trim and was sold in very limited quantities.


A few years later, in 2007, together with our friends at Stroller Mama and Let Go Strolling we re-released the stroller as a Special Edition in the updated Tri Mode configuration… and it was a hit. It was often spotted with America’s favorite modern mom Brooke Burke and her children; Heaven (then 3) and Sheya (then 1).

So here we are today, the 2011 “Boy Meets Girl” Tri Mode EX Twin baby carriage came about simply due to a constant stream of requests from all our fans looking desperately for the older models. But there were none to be found… and so we realized it was time for the Next Generation. The latest Boy Meets Girl is a subtle take on the original side by side pink and blue. The new edition offers pink and blue fabric lining against grey fabric on the seat and canopy extension. Keeping within our tradition of marrying style and substance we’ve combined the updated styling of the “Boy Meets Girl” double baby stroller with all the features that have made the Tri Mode EX Twin a favorite of parents.

The “Boy Meets Girl” Tri Mode EX Twin is scheduled to arrive in early March and comes fully accessorized with pink and blue foot muffs, rain cover, tire pump and Valco Baby’s Universal Cup Holder. The limited edition Valco stroller retails for $799.99 and can be pre-ordered now at the following “Boy Meets Girl” exclusive retailers: Baby Central, Stroller Mama, Lets Go Strolling, Country Moose Kids and Albee Baby. For complete product information and photos, visit www.valcobaby.com.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 3, 2011 11:45 am

    I REALLY wanted this stroller when I bought our Valco last fall. I have boy/girl twins and was so bummed that Valco wasn’t making this special edition at the time. I looked on Ebay and everywhere for it. I wish I would have known to wait a few months. We have the arctic blue and grey version, but the boy/girl one is just too cute!

    • February 3, 2011 11:47 am

      I realized I mis-typed my web site address in my previous comment. Sorry! I work at Chevron, so work must be on the brain.

  2. Jenna Giles permalink
    April 27, 2011 10:03 am

    Hello-

    I am sooo sooo in love with Valco Baby Cirque Tri Mode SE Stroller. I live in the DC area and I want to show it off!!! I can not believe it only weighs 23lbs. I am having a BOY so the Black and White is prefect!! I also love that it is great for jogging, but has storage to hold my shopping bags! I also love and WANT the “Boy Meets GiRL Stroller” It would be great for my 2 year old daughter and my Son ( due 7/2011).

    I “Liked” you on Facebook, subscribed to you email, and left you a comment on you Facebook wall!!!

    I HOPE I WIN!!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

